The City Council in and for the citizens of the City of Lake City, Florida, met in Special Session, on September 21, 2020 beginning at 5:45 P.M., via Communications Media Technology.

CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Witt called the meeting to order at 5:47 P.M.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

INVOCATION-Mayor Stephen M. Witt

ROLL CALL

Mayor/Council Member Stephen M. Witt Vice Mayor/Council Member Melinda Moses City Council Chris Greene Jake Hill, Jr. Eugene Jefferson

City Attorney Frederick Koberlein, Jr.
City Manager Joseph Helfenberger
Sergeant-at-Arms Chief Argatha Gilmore

City Clerk Audrey Sikes

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Ms. Moses made a motion to approve the agenda as presented. Mr. Jefferson seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and the motion passed.

Ms. Moses Aye
Mr. Jefferson Aye
Mr. Hill Aye
Mr. Greene Aye
Mayor Witt Aye

PERSONS WISHING TO ADDRESS COUNCIL

- 1. Glenel Bowden congratulated Mr. Hill on his re-election and for his election to the Florida League of Cities Board.
- 4. City Clerk to announce the returns of the election of City Council Member District 12 and City Council Member District 13.

Mayor Witt asked Ms. Sikes to announce the returns of the election for the office of City Council Member District 12 and City Council Member District 13. Ms. Sikes reported the results of this election as submitted by the Columbia County Supervisor of Elections Office, as follows:

City Council District 12

Jake Hill, Jr.	285	Representing (52.01%)
Noah Walker	263	Representing (47.99%)

City Council District 13		
James Crenshaw	160	Representing (29.09%)
Alden Rosner	145	Representing (26.36%)
Christopher "Todd" Sampson	245	Representing (44.55%)

Mr. Hill made a motion to accept the returns as submitted by the Columbia County Supervisor of Elections. Mr. Jefferson seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and the motion passed.

Mr. Hill	Aye
Mr. Jefferson	Aye
Ms. Moses	Aye
Mr. Greene	Aye
Mayor Witt	Aye

5. City Council Resolution No. 2020-096, a resolution of the City Council declaring Stephen M. Witt Mayor Council Member at Large to have been elected in the August 18, 2020 Primary Election. Mr. Greene made a motion to adopt City Council Resolution No. 2020-096, declaring Stephen M. Witt Mayor Council Member at Large to have been elected in the August 18, 2020 Primary Election. Mr. Hill seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and the motion passed.

Mr. Greene	Aye
Mr. Hill	Aye
Mr. Jefferson	Aye
Ms. Moses	Aye
Mayor Witt	Aye

6. City Council Resolution No. 2020-097, a resolution of the City Council declaring Jake Hill, Jr. to have been elected City Council Member for District 12 in the August 18, 2020 Primary Election. Mr. Jefferson made a motion to adopt City Council Resolution No. 2020-097, declaring Jake Hill, Jr. to have been elected City Council Member for District 12 in the August 18, 2020 Primary Election. Ms. Moses seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and the motion passed.

Mr. Jefferson	Aye
Ms. Moses	Aye
Mr. Hill	Aye
Mr. Greene	Aye
Mayor Witt	Aye

7. City Council Resolution No. 2020-098, a resolution of the City Council declaring a Run-off election to be held November 3, 2020 between candidates James Crenshaw and C. Todd Sampson for City Council District 13. Ms. Moses made a motion to adopt City Council Resolution No. 2020-098, declaring a Run-off election to be held November 3, 2020 between candidates James Crenshaw and C. Todd Sampson for City Council District 13. Mr. Jefferson seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and the motion passed.

Ms. Moses	Aye
Mr. Jefferson	Aye
Mr. Hill	Aye
Mr. Greene	Aye
Mayor Witt	Aye

8. COUNCIL COMMENTS

Mr. Jefferson thanked Ms. Moses for her time on the Council. He congratulated her on her retirement and expressed how much he enjoyed working with her during her tenure on the City Council.

9. ADJOURNMENT

All matters having been handled, the meeting adjourned at 5:56 p.m. on a motion made and duly seconded.

Audrey Sikes, MMC City Clerk

^{*}Please note the recording of the meeting did not start until seven minutes into the meeting.